Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi, I'm new to this fine forum and by reading the archives and entries below I see there are some very knowledgeable people here.

What I have is just above 13 volts at 1000 rpm idle then it goes up to about 15 volts as the rpm increases. It pretty well stays at 14.8-15 volts with the rpm above 3000. This seems pretty typical of the early Wings I have seen.

The 1000 rpm idle voltage falls to about 12.4 with the fan on & brake light on but comes up to 14.8 after a few seconds when the engine is reved up.

The above pretty well agrees with my service manual but I see a few posts by Dave Campbell that it should be 14.8 even at idle. I really don't see how that is possible but thought I should ask the experts here to see if they have found similar.

Thanks for all responses, a great web site here.

Twisty

·
Premium Member
612 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the forum Twisty.

14.8 at idle is fine on paper, but I don't know of any 1200s that will do this, even though the alternators are fine. I think your alternator is in goo dshape and putting out a healthy charge. 12.8 or thereabouts seems to be average at idle.

·
Premium Member
578 Posts
imported post

Hi Twisty, It all depends where your voltmeter is connected into your wiring andthe accuracy of the meter.

Mine is fitted across the accessory terminals and reads about the same voltages as your meter. If you check straight across the battery with adigital meter you'll find that the charging voltage, as long as your stator and rectifier are in good condition,is 14.8v as Dave Campbell suggests

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

JOHNO wrote:
Hi Twisty, It all depends where your voltmeter is connected into your wiring andthe accuracy of the meter.