Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I am new to the Goldwing world and was curious about the difference in power between the 1200 and 1500. I know we`re comparing four cylinders vs. six cylinders. I have read a lot of posts about stator problems with the 1200, and I am more inclined towards the GL1500 at this point, however there are a lot of GL1200`s out there for a very decent price. I guess I could always install the poor boy alternator system on a 1200 and not have to worry about it again. Any and all feed back will be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2,801 Posts
imported post

I liked both of mine for different reasons. The 1200 was more nimble in slow speed turns, felt lighter, etc. The 1500 has more giddyup and more room for me and my wife (most of my miles are this way). Personally, I liked the body style of the 1500 over the 1200. If Ihadnt found such a nice low mileage 1500, I may still be riding the 1200. The 1500's are getting fairly reasonable. I found a nice '88 local for $4800. I never ran into electrical issues with the 1200 (seems to be the more common issues, stator, 3-yellow wires, etc.), but I only had it for about 3 months or so. You'll get a lot of opinions both ways for sure, both are good bikes.

My final word I guess: If you ride a lot of 2-up, save for the 1500...

·
Premium Member
2,801 Posts

·
Administrator
02 GL1800 w/Auto Pilot
60,745 Posts
imported post

I also owned a 1200 and traded it for a 1500.

I immediately missed the gear indicator on the dash. But, you learn to count clicks and later you automatically note the RPMs and don't think about that anymore.

I really liked the smoothness of the 1500. The 1200's 4 cylinders are rough at idle and lower RPMs, say under 2500.