Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

I am a new goldwing rider, 5 months and 7,000 miles on a used 1500se.

Got it with 47,000 love it. I have been riding for 40 years mostly sport bikes.

I am wondering if this is the bike I should keep for a whileor is the 1800 a better all round bike? I would like to hear from someone who has had both.

I like the best of both worlds confort and performance.

·
Premium Member
4,379 Posts
imported post

the best thing you can do is test drive one... if your background is sport bikes, youre gonna love the 1800

·
Premium Member
1,201 Posts
imported post

I've held off moving up to an 1800. Cracked frames and transmission failures scare the bejeebus out of me.

·
Premium Member
397 Posts
imported post

William_86 wrote:
the best thing you can do is test drive one... if your background is sport bikes, youre gonna love the 1800
Yep, test drive the 1800. Go down a twisty road, pass a car or two if you get the chance (safely of course). Go over some bumps, test the brakes. Afterwards open the trunk and the saddle bags.

After that you should have a pretty good idea of the differences between the two, and which one is a better fit for you.

·
Premium Member
296 Posts
imported post

I have a GL1500 and rented an 1800. It also ran well, two up, and was a great machine. It partly comes to a cost/benefit issue.
Eventually we'll probably have to upgrade as time passes and the GL1500, already at least a decade old, gets older.
I prefer to buy used bikes and let someone else pay the initial depreciation. The 2001 to 2004 GL1800's have many problems, particularly with the frame, that I find unacceptable.
The 2005 and up GL1800's are too expensive right now, to me.