Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hey all, I'm new to the goldwing world obviously. and the time has come to put tires on my 1500. Any suggestions on brands I should look into? From what I'v e been told so far, from my local dealer is the Elite 3's are the best tires, but I've also heard many wonderful things about the Metzlers ME880's. HELP! I'm gonna be needing a rear in the next couple months and a front before the season ends.

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
imported post

The Metzlers are very popular with 1500 owners, but tire preferences are always a personal thing and everyone seems to have different views.

·
Lost on this *****
4,317 Posts
imported post

There are many, many threads here about tires. Only because there are many wingers in the world. And all of them (including myself) have our own opinions.

Here is my "opinion" / experience:

I went through 2 sets of E3's,,,,,,,,,, both sets got over 14,000 miles. Some cupping did occur toward the end of their use. But they were a good tire and would not be affraid of useing them again if I had to.

Now with that said,,,,,,,,,,,, I have switched to the Michelin GT Pilots. I only have close to 3,000 miles on them so far. But every mile has been fantastic with them. The handling is excelent. These tires really do stick to the pavement,,,, even on wet roads. Mind you,,,,,,,,,, standing water is always bad no matter what tire you have. The bike just feels more nimble and smooth. I have found that I keep a better line into the twisties.

You'll be getting lots more answers and opinions. Best of luck to ya, And Welcome to the forum.

PS,,,,,, here is where I got mine,,,,,,, fast shipping.

Michelin Pilot GT Motorcycle Tire

·
Administrator
02 GL1800 w/Auto Pilot
60,147 Posts
imported post

Echo that. Michies, ignore tar snakes :cheeky1:

Stick like glue.

·
Premium Member
202 Posts
imported post