Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello all,

I am new to this forum (1st post). I have been using the advice for a couple of months (THANKS!!)

On to my problem:

I acquired a 1980 gl1100 that was in storage for about 5 years (all the body was removed). I assembled the body and ordered new timing belts, battery,carb kits, and starter rebuild kit. I installed the timing belts, turned the motor by hand to check for clearance, cleaned and rebuilts the carbs. I flushed the engine oil, changed the filter, installed the battery and fired her up.

Shestarted fine but idle is not possible, she sounds good if I hold the throttle at about 3500 rpm, below that she starts to sputter and backfires though carbs and exhaust. I ordered and installed air cut off valves. Exact same results.

I have:

Checked and rechecked the timing belt position (not exact but as close as they can get with the teeth to the marks lining up). I have done the starter fluidtest to check for leaks, changed the plugs, checked and rechecked and rechecked and rechecked the floats, checked and rechecked the accelerator pump. The fuel pump is at 4-6 psi, compression is 150 +/- 5 per cylinder. Spark is within clymer's manuals specs.

This is my first wing I have rebuilt 20 magna's carbs and all and never had this trouble.

I am at a loss........ any help would be greatly appreciated

:headbanger: :headbanger: :headbanger: :headbanger: :headbanger:

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
imported post

R_Heath wrote:
Hello all,

I am new to this forum (1st post). I have been using the advice for a couple of months (THANKS!!)

On to my problem: