Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I am new to the Goldwing forums and just purchased a 1982 GL1100. It is an unrestored, original bike and I am the second owner so there are no goofy wiring/modification issues. I have two main issues that I could really use your help with...

1) Starting - I went through the old/unknown bike startup procedures and I can turn the engine in high gears. Recharged the battery and now reads 12.something volts. Bike on center stand, in neutral with clutch in and kill switch to off (don't want to fire it, I just want to turn the motor over a few times to get the new oil distributed as per the instructions I read on this forum). I hit the start button and get rrr.......rrr...........rrrr..rrr... very slow turning. I know it could be the starter, solenoid or some connection in between. How do I go about a thorogh diagnosis to find which part needs replacing?

2) Rear brake is locked - The bike moved fine when I first looked at it - which is how I checked that the engine still turned before purchase. I think the towing guy used the brake pedal and.... rear wheel takes a ton of force to move. I tried removing the caliper (so I could sort out #1 first), but it is locked onto the rotor hard. How can I get the brake to release from the rotor?

I am sure I will find many more things as I dig into the bike so I will probably be a frequent poster here.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Jon

·
Premium Member
1,304 Posts
Welcome to the forum Jon. I can't help with the starting problem but others will be along who can.
About the rear brake, the calliper pistons are most likely sticking and preventing the pads from releasing. Try pushing them back in with a screwdriver and that should let you get the calliper off the rotor.

·
Premium Member
2,048 Posts