Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys. I am new to this page and was wondering if I could get some help. My goldwing is having a problem starting. I put a brand new starter in and starter solenoid. The problem I am having is when the bike is started, the starter does not disengage. I have tried disconnecting the starter button completely, I have even disconnected the starter directly and it still spins. If I turn the bike off the starter turns off as well. My only problem is that it doesn't disengage when the bike is running. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Magic Moderator
4,723 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.
Where did you get the starter solenoid from? It sound like the ones that come from China and are made incorrectly.
You can never go wrong with am OEM one.

·
Administrator
27,122 Posts
If you are sure the starter is still turning even if you disconnect it the start clutch would have to be stuck. The engine would have to come out to fix it.

Reactions: siouxindian

·
Administrator
1987 GL1200 Interstate
22,999 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Plenty of good info here.
Make sure you describe the problem clearly as it will help them solve the issue.

·
Registered
1,264 Posts
Isn't the Bendix drive/clutch part of the starter? Sounds like it's sticking. This can happen even on a new starter. The fact that it's spinning with the starter wires disconnected would tend to point to a stuck Bendix drive.

Rayjoe

·
Registered
538 Posts
Nope, there is no bendix.
The starter drives a sprag clutch on the back of the generator rotor via a chain

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hello and welcome to the forum.
Where did you get the starter solenoid from? It sound like the ones that come from China and are made incorrectly.
You can never go wrong with am OEM one.
I bought mine off of Amazon. I have bypassed the solenoid and same issue

·
Registered
10 Posts