Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,713 Posts
imported post

Have you rebuilt the calipars?

Maybe someone will be along soon that has the right fix!

·
Registered
10,509 Posts
imported post

Could be 2 main reasons. Master cylinder isn't bleeding back to upon release of the brake pedal, caliper cylinders are dirty and not retracting enough.

Rebuilding mine tomorrow with new seals and a full flush of the system.

A secondary reason could be brake line collapsing on the inside allowing fluid flow to the caliper but not back to the reservoir.

·
Premium Member
200 Posts
imported post

I have some experience with that, both 81 wings i have owned had brakes that were sticking. You can pull the calipers, tear them down, clean them well and replace the rubber parts. Not a bad job really, kinda messy and dont get any Brake Fluid on the paint. The kits come with the caliper seal, caliper dust cover, the accordian dust covers and the bleeder screw cap. if all the outside rubber is in great condition you can just purchase the caliper seal at the dealer. 7 bucks and some change each, versus27-30 bucks each for the kits. Maybe someone can give you a link to some cheaper kits.If I gothrough all of that, I will re-do the master cylinders also, as they are usually going to beas dirty. Then bleed the brakes really well, making sure you crack all the banjo fittings and then when you find out none of that has made your brake levers firm, tie the front one back with a piece of rope or zip tie, turn the handlebar to the far left and let it sit overnight. Weigh down the foot lever at the same time. That will let any trapped air rise into the master cylinders.

·
Premium Member
175 Posts
imported post