Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody. After spending my whole life riding Ninjas I finally bought my dream machine. She ("PoCoHontas") is one owner, garage kept 1984 Aspencade with 29k original miles and if the 300 or so ive rode her I will say shes everything I dreamt she would be.

With that said, here's my problem. A few weeks ago one of the timing belt tensioner bolts backed out, she jumped time, piston hit valve, valve broke and trashed the right rear cylinder. Although I grew up twisting wrenches and have rebuilt dozens of engines, I am a newbie with Wings.

A friend of mine owns a used bike repair and parts shop sold me a 1986 Aspy that was seized from water sitting the left rear cylinder. After using Evapo Rust and honing the cylinder it still has some mild to moderate pitting. Its a shame because the engine only has 52k original and is otherwise in excellent condition. As such I bought another disassembled lower end that will be arriving today.

One of my many questions that are surely to come is can my original 1984 engine be resleeved/relined? If so does anyone know if and where I can buy the sleeve/liner? In a perfect world I would like to repair and keep her original engine.

My next question is if thats not an option can I replace the 1984 engine block halve with one of the 1986's I bought. Ive read alot of threads on this site and have gotten lotsa mixed answers. Actually they are more like opinions. Has anyone actually done this?

And I know alot of people are going to say look for a used engine instead of rebuilding. And while thats fine, I intend on owning this bike for life and though it sucks to have to rebuild it, I love restoration projects, am utterly fascinated with the GL1200 engine and look forward to rebuilding my original engine from top to bottom.