Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Recently bought this bike and when it gets to operating temperature, it shuts itself down. Has new battery, fuel pump and filter but think it might be something electrical. I can fix about anything but am not familiar with working on bikes. If it's idling, it will shut off after about 10-11 minutes. When it shuts itself off, all guages are working and light still on. Just the engine shuts down. If it sets for 20-30 minutes, it will start up but only run about 10 minutes before shutting down once again. Any ideas? Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,522 Posts
imported post

sounds like your coils are bad... Bad ones will leak when they get hot..

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

Since I'm new to a Goldwing, I don't know where the coils are or how to get to them. Am ordering service manual since previous owner didn't have one. Nothing like being stumped to feel stupid.:ROFL:

·
Premium Member
1,522 Posts
imported post

They are very simple to learn.. I can send you a electronic manual if you like. pm me your email address. also coils are in front under the faux tank (fake tank). You should se a set of them.

·
Administrator
1987 GL1200 Interstate
22,763 Posts
imported post

Sounds like classic pulse generator failure. They are under the timing belt cover on that bike.

·
Premium Member
1,572 Posts
imported post

Bike...and Dennis wrote:
Sounds like classic pulse generator failure. They are under the timing belt cover on that bike.
I agree.

·
Still Learning
13,270 Posts
imported post

Was it a spudder and die or a quick die?

·
Vintage Rider
2,410 Posts
imported post

I have to agree with Dennis, but wasn't the pulse generator located somewhere else on the '84 models?

·
Premium Member
353 Posts
imported post

I don't see any mention of a model year in his posting nor his profile.
Bobby

·
Premium Member
6,132 Posts
imported post