Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

:(I bought this 1986 SEi from my brother who bought it brand new in 1986. His health went bad and the bike was parked for the last 3 years. It ran perfect when he parked it. I installed a new battery and it started with little problem, it rev's ok but on the road it falls on it's face at 1/8 to 1/4 throtle open. Any suggestions would be welcome. By the way, it has 63,000 miles on it.

This is my first Goldwing. I have been riding a 1985 VT1100 Shadow for the last 20 years which now has 362,000 miles on it (2nd motor) and still runs great:cool:. The Goldwing is a whole new world to me :shock:. Bro D.

·
Premium Member
2,381 Posts
imported post

Sounds like a carb cleaning/rebuild to me. When gas sits that long it turns into a slimy mess that will clog up the inside of your carbs (jets clogged, float valves obstucted, vacuum piston could be stuck, floats jammed, etc.).

Could also be other things like rust in the tank clogging up your fuel filter.

In any case it's probably fuel related.

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

Thanks for the input axlewik. I was hoping for a cheap easy fix but somehow I think your right. UUUUUUHHHHH $450.00 huh? LOL

Bro D, Cincinnati

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post