Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi All,

Ibought a1993 GL1500 Aspencade used. I think the previous owner put the cornering light kitand they work when theturn signals are activated. Which is cool. however I would like for the to work anytime the bike is running instead of running of the trun signals. Has anyone else done this?Was it a tough job to do? Thanks

Steve

·
Premium Member
1,028 Posts
imported post

I did this with my cornering lights. I just bypassed the relay on each side. Can't remember the colour of the wires offhand, but I'll check it tomorrow and post it here, unless someone else is good enough to update you in the meantime.

·
Premium Member
2,381 Posts
imported post

I'm no expert on the GL1500, but I'm sure all you'd have to do is take the positive lead from these lights off of the turn signal circuit and tap into something that's always on, such as the headlight circuit. A wiring diagram might help you find a good place to do this...you might be able to move a wire only a short distance from one harness to another to do this.

Just be certain that the circuit you're tapping into can handle the added amperage, and that taking it off of the turn signal circuit doesn't have any adverse effects on your turn signals. Another consideration is to be certain that these lights can handlebeing on constantly (filament life, heat, etc.).

·
Premium Member
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

Glad to know someone else has done this. If you do know what circuit you hooked this up to, I would be grateful if you would share it. Thanks,

Steve

·
Premium Member
991 Posts
imported post