Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

hi everyone

i am writing from Dubai - but am an Aussie living here.

so i am new to goldwings but been riding for 30 years or so

i bought a 1995 wing and the sound system was - well crap! so i replaced the speakers - well some guy did and he put in a transmitter for an ipod

so was going so so when i picked it up - nto much better actually - so thought about an amplifier - but i didnt

i washed the bike and ever since - it has all gone to custard!

a very very quite noise comes out of the speakers now - like almost nothing

so here are some dumb questions perhaps!

1/. should i have installed waterproof speakers

2/. is the stereo waterproof - i didnt drown it but i hosed the bikedown - i have seen on ebay stereo covers - i would haev thought that they would be sealed waterproof units but hey something wasnt waterproof cos it was fine until i washed it!

Ok so......

i really want to play my ipod so i am thinking of installing an aftermarket stereo with a jack for the 1995 wing

has anyone done this? what did u do with the existing stereo space? where did u put the new stereo?

thanks for any advice

ps i have done a fair bit of searching on this site without much luck

michael

·
Premium Member
172 Posts
imported post

Yes, the speakers should be water proof or marine type. I replaced mine on my 91 SE with polypropylene cones and they have stood up all season and been washed with a hose several times. The radio unit is somewhat water resistant but you should avoid the cassette door as they are not very waterproof.

·
Premium Member
529 Posts

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post