Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I am quickly coming up on my 600 mile oil change. I do my own maintenance and plan on changing both the crankcase and final drive oil. I have three questions:

Is it too early to go with synthetic?

I have used Shell Rotella Synthetic 5w-40 for all of my previous motorcycles and it has worked great. What is the general consensus on the best oil for the money?

I have read that the Honda oil filter is the best to use. I have also read that Purolator Pure One oil filters are one of the best on the market and I have been using them for 3 years. How does the Honda filter compare?

Thanks for any advice or input!

·
Premium Member
1,299 Posts
imported post

Does Honda require they do the first service for warranty compliance?. I would bet the Honda filter would do the job without any issues. As far as oil goes, any oil that meets Honda's spec for your bike would also be fine.Your owners manual should give you the oil requirements.,,

·
Guru
3,074 Posts
imported post

While its under warranty, get the dealers thumbs up because they are the ones that will look for escape routes if you bring in a wing under warranty for repairs. I dont think it's too early if you want to go synthetic.

·
Administrator
26,534 Posts
imported post

The first oil change is at 4000 miles, I'll leave it up to you on the brand.

·
Premium Member
5,502 Posts
imported post

Yep the first oil change is at 4000 miles.

·
Premium Member
1,424 Posts
imported post

Imnotlost wrote:
I am quickly coming up on my 600 mile oil change. I do my own maintenance and plan on changing both the crankcase and final drive oil. I have three questions:

Is it too early to go with synthetic?

I have used Shell Rotella Synthetic 5w-40 for all of my previous motorcycles and it has worked great. What is the general consensus on the best oil for the money?