Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Bike was parked by previous owner in 2003 when it started running the battery down. He started riding something else and NEVER got around to working on this bike. I have talked to him for years about me owning this bike and just made it happen for $400. Inside of gas tank look pretty nasty, so I know what I face there. I am looking for solid advice on what to do at this point. I have stripped off the tank cover, fairing, rear fender, trim, wheel, battery and box, and it kinda looks like the picture at left. I have all winter to work on this and it seems that pulling out the engine and going thru it would be the smart plan. (I have been working on bikes for 40 years, but this is my first Gold Wing) The carbs are so fouled up that nothing moves. I have been scoping this forum for the past week and it looks like an awesome community. I really appreciate having a resourcelike this. Advice?

Steve Conner

·
Premium Member
53 Posts
imported post

Congrats on getting the project.

Here is an unfinished website documenting what I had to do on my 82 Interstate. It sat for about 7 years. I am still filling in the details of the list, but the list is pretty complete.

http://wpctcs02.wpcarey.asu.edu/GL1100/

It is running very well now. I have a bit of electrical work and polishing and cleaning left.

The big issues for me were the carbs and brakes. Though you may have different issues, you very, very likely need to clean out the carbs and replace the rubber. I would definitely get the carb kits and manual from http://www.randakks.com/.

Trent

·
Premium Member
1,398 Posts
imported post