Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I have a 1982 GL 1100 Aspencade i am restoring. The bike wont start. all i get is a lot of backfiring. i did some testing and found the pulse coil bad. i replaced it and the bike fired right up. i continued to put the rest of the bike back together. when i was all done i started the bike up was running perfect i go and put it in gear and go about 10 feet and the bike cuts off. i tried starting it again and i got nothing. i just keep get backfiring. but not like it was when i first started. :wtf:. i am a motorcycles tech. and know a lot but this really has me confused.:waiting:

·
Premium Member
2,048 Posts
imported post

Hi RGreen and welcome to the forum from Texas, just a guess but it sounds like the dowel pin in the pulse generator is broken.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
722 Posts
imported post

I had a similar situation with an 1100 that I bought 3 years ago. It would back fire but not run. After checking everything I could get at easily I finally dug in to the back of the engine. Not much room there but I did manage to get the cover off of the pulse generator/advance mechanism cover. I found that the advance mechanism would spin freely. The bolt was loose. Pushed in on the advance and it coupled with the pin. Tightened the bolt, crawled out from inside the bike and tried to start it. It started and ran fine. I had also been through the carburetors before this so they were working well.

·
Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post

i have checked the dowel pin and it is good.

@lyleapgmc= when you removed the cover did you have to remove the tire and swingarm or were u able to without doing all that.

·
Premium Member
2,048 Posts
imported post