Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

well i just got a 1982 goldwing interstate the guy i got it from spent over 1500 in repairs ect to get it running as nice as it does now and it runs nice but the fuel gauge doesnt work i was wondering if this is a common problem i can read about or an easy fix hard fix ect any info would be greatly apreciated

as im sure you can tell i am new to goldwings and well new to motorcycle repair/modificatian and a horible speller but i really dig the old goldwings and would love to make this bike perfect and then upgrade/customize it to fit my style if im asking the wrong questions or in the wrong place i would love if somone could point me in the right direction thanks alot

please email any info or good spots for a new goldwing fan to find info ect to [email protected]

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

:waving::waving: Welcome to the World's Greatest Goldwing Site dcnadeau770! :waving::waving:

Fuel gauge failures aren't a common problem. Before anyone can tell you what might be wrong with any hope of getting it right we need to know if the temperature gauge works okay and how the fuel gauge doesn't work. Does it read full or empty all the time?

If the fuel and temperature gauge don't work properly it's probably the 7 volt regulator that feeds both gauges ot the wiring to it causing the problem.

If the temperature gauge works but the fuel gauge is always showing empty it could be the wire from the seven volt regulator, the gauge, the wiring from the gauge to the sensor under the seat, the sensor itself or the ground wire from the sensor.

So give us a few more details and maybe we can nail it down for you. When you get a chance please put your location in your member profile.

BTW spelling isn't a real problem, there's a spell checker in the upper right on the message form. Try it, you'll like it.

·
Premium Member
7 Posts