Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Good morning all!! I am brand new member to this forum, and I must say, I am impressed with all of the knoledge on display here. I have already picked up some good info on topics related to my problem. If I may, I am going to start from the beginning with my problem and hope someone has, at the very least, a starting point for me. It's going to be kind of long winded, but I don't want to miss a detail that might be important.

OK. I moved to Greensboro, NC., and instead of driving my truck from ANCHORAGE, I decided to buy a 1983 1100 ASPY. I love the bike, but it had been sitting for a bit. At first, the bike ran well enough. I rode it 3 miles each way back and forth to work. Because I never got it above 45 mph, I had no idea there were problems.

OK, fast forward. After I started riding it for longer distances, Ibegan to noticewhat appeared to be cylinders not firing. By pullingplug wires,and using ainfrared thermometer to check exhaust temps,I determined that, in fact, when I first started the bike, I was running on only 2 cylinders; 2 and 4. Then after a few miles, #4 dropped off too. So, I took the carbs off the bike and decided to rebuild. Well, at that time, Mr Randakk was on vacation, so I wouldn't get his rebuild kit for a week or so, and as this was my olny transport, I decided to clean as best as possible, and reinstall, adjust, sync, and then see where I was. I filled the carbs with pure seafoam and let them sit for 24 hours to soak, then started the disassembly. When I got the carbs apart, I was shocked! The bowls had a bit of sediment in them; not too bad. I pulled the main jets and cleaned; again, not too bad. I pulled the float needles, and then the filters. OH DANG! #1, and 3 were so gunked up, I could see why they weren't firing. So I cleaned and cleaned. When putting the carbs back together, I adjusted the float height to 15.5mm. I u