Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi all!

I'm new to GoldWings and so far am having a heck of a time being able to enjoy my first one. It's a 1983 that was pretty much a basket case when I got it. I've put it back together in good order, bought lots of new chrome pieces -mirrors, carb trim, engine guards, fairing accents, etc.- and I've had her out on the road already. But the accessory portion of the electrical system is a MESS!

Here's the deal: The stock signal flasher was kaput so I replaced it with a 3-pin GM automotive flasher as recommended by several Wing riders (EP28, I believe was the part number). Now the left turn signals front and rear work perfectly and both front marker lights work correctly. However, the right front signal does NOT work. I'm good with wiring and have tried every cross-wiring trick I can think of short of actually tearing into the harness but cannot find the problem. Bulbs and fuses are good and I've cleaned all the pins and connectors that I can see.

Also, the horns do not work. And I mean the two beautiful, brand new horns that I purchased yesterday for the bike. They're correct for the bike and I tested them on the bike's battery before installing them. But no-go when hooked up.

Last question: I do not know where the brake-light switch is for the front brake lever. I rebuilt the caliper the other day and found nothing resembling a switch. I do, however, have two female-tipped wires about four inches in length hanging down from my right-side control. Could these be part of the missing switch?

Finally, how do I know what type of Wing I have? I don't know if it's an Interstate or an Aspencade. I do know that the new seat I purchased purported to be the "bigger, more comfortable seat" for the Aspencade. Is it as simple as that?