Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I just got my 83 up and running. I put new stainless brake lines on it courtesy of Lopeha.

They work.

I dont like the way the front and back work together when using the back brake.

I did use the back brake occasionally on my GL1000 going around a corner. not sure I'd do it with this one.....

Anybody else?

·
Premium Member
298 Posts
imported post

I was taught from the beginning to use the front and rear brakes together. When I upgraded from my '80 to my '83 I didn't notice any difference.

·
Still Learning
13,270 Posts
imported post

On my 83 and now on my 1500 I use the front most of the time. Then when needed the foot pedal. Old school.

·
Premium Member
2,722 Posts
imported post

I only started riding last year. I took the MSF coarse where they pounded it into our heads to use both front and rear brakes. I got the wing in march or april of this year after just 6 months of riding, so I rode it by the book doing everything the instructors told us. I LOVE that linked brake. I can pull up to a stop and just gently apply the rear brake and the bike stops nice and smooth. I only need to pull the front brake on quick stops.

·
Just another ORF!
8,189 Posts
imported post

blackknytecnc wrote:
I only started riding last year. I took the MSF coarse where they pounded it into our heads to use both front and rear brakes. I got the wing in march or april of this year after just 6 months of riding, so I rode it by the book doing everything the instructors told us. I LOVE that linked brake. I can pull up to a stop and just gently apply the rear brake and the bike stops nice and smooth. I only need to pull the front brake on quick stops.