Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

I just bought a 1984 Gl 1200 Interstate, The front brake handle comes back to within about 1/2 inchof the trottle grip the brake pads are good. Is there a way to adjust the amount of travel for the handle. I'm new to Goldwings but so far its the best ride I've ever had. Thanks for all the help. James in Tn.

·
Premium Member
3,391 Posts
imported post

The brake needs to be bled.
If you don't know when the brake fluid was replaced last, that would be something that would need doing.
The way I do it, Use plenty of cloths to keep your paintwork from being ruined, remove the covers and diaphrams off the reservoirs, using a turkey baster, remove the fluid and clean any crud out of the reservoirs. Fill the reservoirs with DOT 4 brake fluid then loosen the bleed valves on the calipers, place a tube on the valve and place the other end in a container and pump the fluid through, making sure the levels dont drop down too far as you pump .
If the front brake is still weak, loosen the banjo nut on the reservoir and pump the hand brake, there may be bubbles trapped in there, a common problem.
If after that it still is a problem, it could be the bushing in the lever is worn. Many owners never lube the levers and this allows for wear.
When you have done this remove the caliper slide bolts and lube with either never seize or silicone grease.
Why not put your location in your profile so we know where your from ;)

Attachments

·
Premium Member
775 Posts
imported post