Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Greetings all,

It is time to rebuild the rear shocks on the wing that is now over 57,500 miles. I was a Honda tech and Service Manager between 1973 and 1984 but never had occasion to rebuild these shocks as they were still new at the time. The time has come to do it on this wing and would like to know how the inner dampening works. I have seen the parts fiche but that they do not show the oil dampening and how it works. For me the mechanics of rebuilding is not a concern but would like a better idea before I dive in head first. Anyone out there have any good digital pictures of the disassembled shock?

Mark Gaeth

Decatur, IN

·
Premium Member
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
imported post

Correction - 1986 GL1200A

·
Other side of the pond
3,409 Posts
imported post

Mark,

If you do a search on SHOCK REBUILD or similar, you should get the instructins you need. This has been covered a few times here before.

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
imported post

markgaeth wrote:
Greetings all,

It is time to rebuild the rear shocks on the wing that is now over 57,500 miles. I was a Honda tech and Service Manager between 1973 and 1984 but never had occasion to rebuild these shocks as they were still new at the time. The time has come to do it on this wing and would like to know how the inner dampening works. I have seen the parts fiche but that they do not show the oil dampening and how it works. For me the mechanics of rebuilding is not a concern but would like a better idea before I dive in head first. Anyone out there have any good digital pictures of the disassembled shock?
Mark, there isn't much to those rear shocks, they are just a standard piston-in-tube design. About all that is available for replacement parts thoughis the oil seal, guide washer, & boot.