Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone - some of you may have seen my "new member" post already, but after several days of lurking, searching and reading everything I can find, I've decided to go ahead and create my own "issue" thread.

I just recently purchased an 85 Aspencade with 58k - she wants to stumble on tip in at low RPM. Twist the hand a bit further and it'll stop wanting to buck and smooth right out. Essentially anything over 3k and it seems to have no complaint. Having only ever run V-Twins and parallel twins before, I will say that twisting the throttle to pass at 80 is amazingly smooth and relaxed. It has zero problems in the cruise. The bike will absolutely fly at half or more throttle in 4th or OD on the highway.

I'm no carb expert and I'm not sure where to begin. I do have half a bottle of seafoam in the fuel and it'll probably take me another week or so to get low enough for a refill. The weather here in Chicagoland has not been ride-friendly. Once I've burned thru most of this tank, I'll refill and do it again.

I know there was a TSB in 85 regarding stumbling on the Cali-model 1200s, but this is an Illinois bike since new, and I am the 3rd owner.

Obviously any input you might have is highly valued.

-Kelly

·
Administrator
21,990 Posts
The California bikes were sold in places other than California. Not sure why, but...

Many also simply got moved. So, do you have a hose coming off your gas cap?

Is there a hose diagram on the right side of the gas tank?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The California bikes were sold in places other than California. Not sure why, but...

Many also simply got moved. So, do you have a hose coming off your gas cap?

Is there a hose diagram on the right side of the gas tank?

No gas cap breather, no hose diagram.

Just had to run out and check...