Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
85 goldwing Ltd gl1200 & 86 Aspencade gl1200
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 85 goldwing Ltd 1200 gl of 5months has been running great with no issues untill I got it out couple days ago for a short ride. Keeping close to the house while I ride as much as possible to test dependability. While I was riding it started loosing power & died. I tried to roll start w/no luck. Turn key & everything lights up but no start. Like weak/dead battery? So I had no choice but get jump off car & it started right up. I rode it for couple mins & died again. 4 jumps later & I got her home. Charged battery & it started & ran but eventually died again. So testing alternator w/meter showed be under 6vlts. & my buddy unhooked neg battery while bike running & it died, as a way of testing the alternator... I’m new to bikes so I followed his word & had external(add on) alternator duralast part#14946 tested at Autozone & it failed. So I ordered & So they replaced w/same exact part number from old alternator off bike. I can see where brackets were cut off alternator to fit on bike. & it had 3 prong plug. I get new alternator brackets cut & hooked up to bike & realize the plug wire coming from bike to be plugged into old alternator only has one blade on skinny wire. So I used it just as it was hooked up before alternator replaced. But I’m still having same exact issue the bike seems to be using battery power & then once depleted bike dies. So new alternator didn’t fix the problem?? & that confuses me because the old alternator failed at Autozone. It was doing 3volts & should be doing more like 15v? Sorry if this windy just trying to be detailed. Noting had been changed on bike until the alternator was changed. Checked all fuses I can find. & no sign of burnt wires? Any help would very appreciated as I’m ready to ride! Thank you

·
Administrator
26,948 Posts