Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm new to Goldwing, I have a bunch of questions about my 86 GL12Thanks00I. I'm definitely finding out parts are hard to find, and I've got my work cut out for me with my new old Lady.

I've got a Randaks carb rebuild kit on the way, let's see how that goes.

But, somehow I lost my left side drivers foot rest, anyone know where to find replacements?

The trunk is busted at the hinges, will a harbor freight plastic welder kit work to repair it or is fiberglass better?

I have more questions, but I will wait for the carb overhaul to ask them.

·
Vintage Rider
2,410 Posts
Welcome. I lost a left sidecover on the way home after buying the bike. A local member here sold me one at a decent price. I have since rigged up tethers to hold them in place, as they have no screws. You can sometimes find them on eBay, but the prices are ridiculous. For some reason, right side covers are always a lot cheaper.

The trunk is ABS plastic, and can be difficult to repair, especially in a structural area like around the hinges. I have done repairs like that by cutting out the broken area with a Dremel and a cutoff wheel, then using a steel or aluminum plate bigger than the area you cut out, I drilled holes around the edges and attached it with screws and nuts to good solid plastic, and attached the hinge to the metal plate.

On my 1200, I accidentally left a bottle of brake fluid in the left saddlebag, some of it spilled, and caused several cracks in the bottom of the bag. I took a Dremel and cutoff wheel, cut out the entire cracked area, leaving a large hole in the bottom of the bag, then patched it with a thin piece of sheet metal cut to fit and attached with screws. A little silicone around the edges made it water tight.

·
Administrator
1987 GL1200 Interstate
23,341 Posts
You must have some sort of aftermarket foot boards. Stock stuff is pegs. It's a SPORT motorcycle.