Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi,

I'm new to the forum, so please bear with me. I just started riding my 87 Aspencade this year. It started out OK, but about 5 weeks ago on a ride it just quit while going down the highway. It started to chug as if it was running out of gas and then died. To make a long story short, it started again about 20 minutes later and ran good for about an hour, until I could get it to my local Honda dealership. They had it for about 2 weeks and replaced the voltage regulator.

It ran fine after that until today. I went to start it (I hadn't been out for almost two weeks) and the battery was low. I jump started it and it started right away. I warmed it up good in the driveway, then set out. It was running fine until I got on the highway and it suddenly started to chug and then died. The bike is back in the shop but the guys there don't really know at this point what the problem is.

I read the article about buying used 1200's and the point about the pickup coil seems to be the exact problem I am having. Can anyone give me a few more details on intermittent problems with the coil? Also, I was wondering if it could be an intermittent problem with the fuel pump.

The service manager at Honda thinks I have two problems - one, electrical because my battery keeps running down (it was a brand new battery just before the first problem) and, two, possibly a fuel probelm. I mentioned the problem I read about in the forum re the pickup coil but he was skeptical about that being the problem. I would als add that these guys were very good to me. Considering the length of time they had the bike in the shop and the work they did to find the problem the final bill was very reasonable.

Any thoughts and comments would be greatly appreciated.

·
Administrator
1987 GL1200 Interstate
22,956 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the forum, Stew.