Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This bike has a oil leek in the rear drive . I am planning on replacing all of the seals but I have never done this before. Are there any special tools that I would need? I have been searching for a how to on here and YouTube but have not found one. Can anyone point me to one? Thanks Dannie

·
Administrator
Piaggio MP3, was 02 GL1800
61,616 Posts
you are working on a gl1500, not the '08 Trike ?

·
Registered
1988 Honda GL1500
641 Posts
If its a bike it would be easier to swop the complete drive casting as setting up crown wheel to pinon can be very awkward and with the number of 1500 trikes out there rhere has to be plenty of them about

·
Premium Member
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If its a bike it would be easier to swop the complete drive casting as setting up crown wheel to pinon can be very awkward and with the number of 1500 trikes out there there has to be plenty of them about
I am thanking you are correct on this. I was wondering what it would take to do this.

·
Premium Member
1993 gl1500, 1976 gl1000
3,908 Posts
If its a bike it would be easier to swop the complete drive casting as setting up crown wheel to pinon can be very awkward and with the number of 1500 trikes out there rhere has to be plenty of them about
Why not just mark both with a center punch before disassembly and realign them at the exact same location when going back together?? Worked just fine for me.

Reactions: DaveO430

·
Registered
1988 Honda GL1500
641 Posts
You can mark the nut and shaft, the problem is there is a spacer on the pinion shaft that "collapses" under torque of the nut and is only supposed to be used once

·
Premium Member
1993 gl1500, 1976 gl1000
3,908 Posts
You can mark the nut and shaft, the problem is there is a spacer on the pinion shaft that "collapses" under torque of the nut and is only supposed to be used once