Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Honda Guru
2,050 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I'd installed new wheel bearings (Honda) in my 88 1500 about 15k miles ago and noticed that there was some play in the bearings last week. I didn't think too much about it at the time… hey, bearings wear out. So I ordered a set of AllBall bearings. They arrived yesterday so today I tore apart the rear wheel to install them. Just for grins i got a sharp scribe and pulled off the seals on the bearings to make sure they were properly packed with grease. THERE WASN'T ANYTHING MORE THAN A FILM INSIDE THE BEARINGS.

Now…. I've been a car and motorcycle tech for a lot of years… and Lord knows they've made some amazing upgrades since I first started to turn a wrench but I know there should be grease packed inside a bearing and what we have here is a cheap shot at producing a product that is doomed to fail. Their quality control really sucks.

That'll be the last time I recommend All Balls bearings without the notation to make sure to pack the bearings with grease.

My question now….. are other makers of bearings doing the same thing?? Is this common???

·
Pwhoever
3,165 Posts
imported post

Rut roh!!! I just instaled AllBalls bearings on my front and rear wheels. I was under the impression that these were sealed bearings packed with grease already and no grease was needed. This info is kind of disheartening.

Is there a way to add grease to them without having to pull the bearings back out? If not, I may just run them like this and when the time comes, replace them with OEM. Hopefully this will not come too soon though....

·
Junior Grue
8,153 Posts
imported post

rayworx wrote:
My question now….. are other makers of bearings doing the same thing?? Is this common???
Not only is it common it's universal.