Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi

I just got my spare rim and was preparing to order a Kumho tire, did some research and the tire I may order is a summer tire. Which essentially means it will harden up or "glass over " at around 30 Degrees F. I commute and ride more than a few days to work in the teens. So the easy answer is order an all season.

Now this has me thinking. Is a typicall motorcycle tire automatically a summer tire? Maybe the Bridgstone M/C tire is hardening up in the cold and I am not aware of this. Does anyone have any info on this? I might re think my winter driving habits if it is, and it would be good info for everyone else in a cold climate.

Thank You Tom

·
Premium Member
5,502 Posts
imported post

Motorcycle tires contain additives, called VOC's , please do not ask me to explain that because I am not an college professor. But they do have additives in the tire compound to keep the tires flexible to a degree even in colder temps. This is one of the reasons most information on the tires quite simply tell you not to use them if over five years old.

On the common sense side of things, as far as I know, I have never seen or heard of any complaints or issues with anyone riding a motorcycle experiencing traction problems due to colder temperatures.

Also tires do heat up as they get used, and are designed to come up to operating temperature quite quickly. This is engineered into the tire also, many, many factors are thought about by engineers when they design a tire, many more things than one would normally think about.