Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

My 1981 GL1100 Interstate isway too topheavy to keep upright, especially when my somewhat petite150 lb wife is on the back seat. When maneuvering three point turn, tight turns andwhen accelerating from a dead stop or very near a dead stop (rolling stop)the bike is very wobbely andhandles real crappy. And with her weight the bike scrapes ground on a 25 degreelean. I am a Vietnam Vet andhave a broken back andonly have a social security disability checkandmust staywithin a strict budget.

I am disgusted with my bikes ability to take me to the ground primarily when backing up and struggling with the center stand. The falling part is easy:)but, it's the picking it backup that overwhelms me.

I was browsing gold wing photos on google and saw a beautiful wing with what looked like training wheels. This might help with the dropping issue. But,will the side wheels make it unsafe with bottoming out on leaning turns (with the old-Lady on my saddle).

Is there anyonewillingto donate the hardware for the side wheel kits? I think I could tackle the install. I live in the Detroit down river area.

Thanks for your time and consideration:

Joe (warezaholic)

·
Administrator
02 GL1800 w/Auto Pilot
60,205 Posts
imported post

Most of those type side wheel kits lift off the ground once you get over 15 mph. Some manually with a touch of a button, others automatically. The two I am aware of advertise being able to lean over as far as you normally do.

This video will show you how one model is made. I think a judicious amount of skullduggery might enable you to build your own. But, acquiring the "factory kit" would be easier to install.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOhP1HTZQwY

·
Premium Member
732 Posts
imported post

Joe,

You have a few options to solve your problem.