Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1984 GL1200 A
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All
I am fairly new to Goldwings, but not new to motorcycles in general. Never having experienced air suspension before, I have the following questions.

1. The handbook states acceptable pressure for the front forks as 0 [zero] to 6psi. If zero psi is ok, why have air at all?
With oil damping, I cannot see the point of it.

2. If the air pressure was wrongly increased to way above 6psi, for example 20psi, would the increased pressure cause oil to get past the oil seals? The seals in my Aspy were renewed 300 miles ago, but I see seepage round the dust covers

Many thanks for any information

Kind Regards

Alan

1984 Goldwing Aspencade GL1200 [built in USA, but now a British citizen]

·
Registered
1984 GL1200 A
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi Guys
Many thanks for your replies. I am starting to understand a bit more about the air ride system.

I have some repair bills from the previous owner, and there seems to be a trend towards failing fork seals,
IE: l/h seal replaced at 37885 miles, r/h seal and bush replaced at 43035 miles, seals and bushes replaced at 45824 miles. Not what I would have expected from Honda.

Last October, new fork bushes for the UK mot test. I had noted seepage a short time prior to the test. now, 300 miles later, guess what? seepage again from the l/h seal, just over 53k miles.

I think Dave O430 could be right, there may well be damage on the leg. I have made myself a tool for assistance in removing the forks, so I will be doing my own overhaul when the time comes.

I had to have a local shop change the bushes, and was somewhat suprised when they told me they could not operate the compressor. I had to show them how. Ok, so there's not many wings around here, but I do not know what pressure was applied.