Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Premium Member
410 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi,

A litte history. I have a lot of riding experience but nothing larger than a 500cc Honda Shadow back in the early 90's. I can't belive it's been 20 years.

What I'm wondering is a 1500 to large of a bike to get started on again or shall I start out with something smaller like a 750 shadow?

How many of you have gotten on to a Wing after a long break?

I have a 30 inch inseam will I be able to stand flat footed at the stop lights?

I know I will be doing alot of time in the parking lots doing figure 8 and circles and I will be taking a motorcycle education class.

I value all of your opinions.

Ivan

·
Premium Member
1,334 Posts
imported post

Hi there Ivan and welcome aboard! I always recommend a smaller bike for a refresher but it is up to yourself as to what you do.

The 1500 is a bit of a top heavy bike but can be easily handled.
A 30" inseam should work with most stock 1500 seats as well.

Some riders will lower the bike a bit if they run an aftermarket seat to keep their feet flat.

·
Premium Member
1,250 Posts
imported post

To get started with practice on a 1500 you can leave the rear suspension pressure set low until you get comfortable.

·
Premium Member
913 Posts
imported post

I have owned a 1500 Goldwing,they are heavy but I wouldn't say they are top heavy.
Most large twin cylinder bikes are top heavy.It won't take you long to feel comfortable on two wheels again,I would get the 1500.....

·
Premium Member
21,185 Posts
imported post

ivan wrote:
Hi,

A litte history.  I have a lot of riding experience but nothing larger than a 500cc Honda Shadow back in the early 90's.  I can't belive it's been 20 years.

What I'm wondering is a 1500 to large of a bike to get started on again or shall I start out with something smaller like a 750 shadow?

How many of you have gotten on to a Wing after a long break?