Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Im not a mechanic. Ive tried everything i can think of. New battery, new starter (stupid clymer manual), threw showers of sparks from the solenoid, checked all the fuses i could find, and still cant get the bike to start.

When I turn the key I get power to the dash and headlight. Hit the starter button and there's amarvelousclick that comes from the vicinity of the solenoid. That's it. Just a click. No suck. No squeeze. No bang. No blow.

Please help. I have a great bike and I don't get to enjoy it.

·
Premium Member
10,276 Posts
imported post

Check the dogbone fuse, by the solenoid. Looks like a flat piece of metal, or a miniature wrench. Replace it, even if it looks good.

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

Thanks Mike. I looked at that fuse a hundred times and haven't thought to change it yet. I hope this works.

·
Premium Member
10,276 Posts
imported post

Better yet, replace it with a 30 amp fuse setup like this....

Attachments

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post

That looks fairly simple. What and where will I need cut and add the wires leading from fuse? Is it just at the screws that hold the fuse?

·
Premium Member
10,276 Posts
imported post

Yep. A lot easier to get the fuses, too.

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
imported post

Thanks guys. I feel like like a kid at Christmas waiting for NAPA to open.
This site really is a Godsend.

·
Premium Member
365 Posts
imported post

Jfree,

You say your not a mechanic, so just a couple things to think about. If you boughta battery that you had to add the acid to it. It still needs to be charged, before use. It will have some voltage at first but not enough to crank your bike.