Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,857 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Got the CycleGear catalogue in the mail, and they have a new store-brand, BILT.

Looks like they're cutting out the middle-man and having the Pakistan factories make it directly for them.

Helmets with pop down/up "integrated sunglasses" for $99.
Basic full-face helmets for $60.
Touring-grade "Typhoon" jackets for $100.
One-piece leather tracksuits for $300.

Anyone seen the stuff in person? If they keep their prices like this I can see it having an impact in the gear marketplace.

·
Premium Member
2,722 Posts
imported post

I got a set of Frank Thomas riding jacket and gloves from cycle gear, both in mesh and leather when I started riding last year. I remember when I first saw this bilt brand I thought it looked really familiar. I went down antook a look at it and I'm pretty well convinced they're made by the same folks. Not that that's a bad thing, I've been pleased with my gear.

·
Bringer of Shenanigans
1,031 Posts
imported post

I have the Bilt modular helmet. The ventilation could be a little better, but it works. The road noise isn't bad. At least below 85. :cheesygrin:

·
Premium Member
1,173 Posts
imported post

Funny How these guys manufacture for different folks then have their own brand. If folks recall a few years ago COSTCO was selling the Hammerhead Huge tool Boxes..stainless steel for less then 800 bucks. Hammerhead sued...they changed the tagging to CSPS then eliminated the roll around one all together and now just sell the smaller ones. Hammerhead sold the exact same box for 5 grand. I purchased one from a Costco but had to go to another store to pick it up because it was the last store to have one. Paid 700 bucks for it.

·
Premium Member
2,929 Posts
imported post