Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

It's my first time doing heads on a GL so I have to ask about details....it's been said in workshop manual that it's needed to seal the camshaft holder-to-head contact surface with some liquid sealer (as there is no classic gasket to put there) during assembly. I understand this is because the oil under pressure, which lubricates camshaft, goes through the same holes where the screws are so to prevent leakage of oil. However, I wouldn't like to use any silicone here because of well known reasons (a piece of silicone getting loosened inside lubrication system) so I don't know what else could I use? Would some spray on gasket do the job? Something else? Thanks!

·
Premium Member
5,734 Posts
imported post

i would think that the spray on gasket would work . a light coating , that is all that would be required . both surfaces are machined surfaces.
on a other note--- how did the wather pump rebuild come out ?

·
Premium Member
494 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

:waving:
The pump is like it came from factory! I just replaced the bearings and axial seal on your pump and of course washed and cleaned everything so now it's all shiny and runs nice and smooth, at least when tested by hand. I've put it back in its case and now I am about to finally reassemble the heads (they are off since Summer 2010th) so when that's done I will put the front case and other back to the bike and possibly be back on road I hope....will send you the pics when it's done, as I promised! Thanks again!

·
It aint rocket science
3,942 Posts
imported post

When sealing between two machined surfaces, anaerobic sealer is the choice. Loctite 510 or 515.

JD

·
Premium Member
12,790 Posts
imported post