Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,650 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Most of my adult life I worked as an electrical contractor. I have wired all sorts of buildings. Among them were a few daycares. I had the idea that my wife could run one. At the first opportunity we purchased a building at a bargain price in the middle of Jamesburg NJ.

We took it apart to bare walls and modernized it turning it into a Day care center.
A lot of love and effort went into that building.

Letizia operated it for a few years. After graduation my daughter took over.
She got married and has three kids . The older ones went to our own daycare.
Then she decided to be a stay at home mom and our son Andrew stepped up as the new director,

The school was at all times just marginally profitable but I didnt mind, just collected my rent and was happy that we had this family business.

The time got tougher since last year when Phill Murphy stepped in our little Jamesburg and donated a chunk of state funds to a town's pre K.
The effect on us was almost immediate. The enrollment in our school has dropped close to the red line.
People would take free over pay for it, anytime.
What they don't realize is that nothing is free. We are paying almost 13K in property taxes for our building. All homes and businesses in NJ are paying probably the highest property tax in the US. It is not sustainable. Many people ,like me, cash in their assets and move out of state.
So after 19 years in business we listed the building for sale. There is a future for my son here in FL as a builder. Myself and my wife will just ride into the sunset crossing mountains and valleys.

Nothing is free. You will pay for it one way or the other.Remember that when some politician promises you free stuff.

https://www.monroenow.com/community/jamesburg/jamesburg-preschool-program-gets-visit-from-murphy/article_d5cfc03e-44b4-11e8-9d95-5b496be5c1e5.html

·
Administrator
24,390 Posts