Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I replaced my stator last week and got my bike running yesterday. I took it on a test ride and saw that my volts were reading just above 10, however the bike never stuttered to start. On the way back, the meter slowly dropped until the lights dimmed and on the last half mile home it ran like crap. The volts were reading lower then my gauge could read.

I'm no electrician, but I found a few articles on how to test the continuity of the stator by testing the resistance between the wires in the plug. I got a reading of a steady 9 ohms between all three wires going to the stator. However, on the other side of the plug I got a reading of no resistance on the wire that is perpendicular to the other wires. Does this indicate a bad rectifier? I'd like to do the engine-running test now, but the battery must charge up overnight before I can start it.

I'd like to thank everyone on this board for the great wealth of technical information. Without the technical articles you've posted motorcycle newbies like me would be lost. Many thanks :claps:

·
Vintage Rider
2,410 Posts
imported post