Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,472 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Well guys and gals, I would like this poll to reflect how those of you have repaired your bike after suffering the dreaded 'carb cough'. This a condition where there is a small backfire in the air box, a deceleration "popping" and general loss of powerat a certainrange of RPM's. I have been fighting this for over 2 years and I have been replacing parts as I can and when I can find the time.I would like to find out if there was 1 thing you did to cure this problem. If I have left anything out, please let me know. Thanks,

-Jerry

·
Administrator
02 GL1800 w/Auto Pilot
60,198 Posts
imported post

You didn't leave an option for using Sea Foam or other type carb cleaner.

In my case, I used Sea Foam and fixed a vacuum line leak(s).

I voted for sync and "other".

·
Premium Member
1,299 Posts
imported post

I haven't had those issues with my Goldwing, but I have had them with Harley's I've owned.Carb coughing I have found is due to a lean running condition.might be from leaking vacuum lines that are old and cracked or just loose fitting. Or could be from partially blocked jets, or air leaks from intake manifold gaskets/seals.Popping in the exhaust can be from a rich condition when letting off the throttle at speed, and having unburned fuel ignited in the exhaust pipes.These symptoms will apply to almost any brand bike, you just need to throughly go thru and positively check and not assume they're ok.,,

·
Premium Member
5,734 Posts
imported post

i went with 2 items---carbs dirty or pluge jets---vacum leaks--but thats on a 1100 .but the same should applie to the 1200 .

·
Premium Member
4,472 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post

AZgl1500 wrote: