Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

So I've been fighting a weird problem for a few months now. When I hit 50-70 mph, and tried to cruise there, the bike would fall flat on her face. Checked fuel filter (not bad, but replaced), air filter (not bad, but replaced). Checked fuel flow rate (good), all fuses (good), ECU checked out. Bit the bullet, rebuilt the carbs....NONE of this helped. Irritated, I took the bike to the local Honda shop. They recommended carb rebuild; I told them it had been done, but okay, they are the pro's. Rebuilt carbs....no help. Replaced sliders, fuel petcock, solenoids, YOU NAME IT!!! No fix......

So, (and here's the STRANGE part), I'm talking everything over with them (they now had the bike for over 2 weeks), and I mentioned that the silver part of the attached pic had fallen off right before it started running bad, and that I had to epoxy it, or find a new one...That got the Supervisor thinkin...He got one off a bike they had in the back....and.....ready??? fixed the problem...?!?!?!!? Evidently, there is a diaphram under the silver part of the cover that needs ambient pressure...not vacuum, or high pressure...without the cover, it was freakin the solenoids out...

Anyway, just thought I'd pass it along!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
150 Posts
imported post

Man thats wild !!!! Glad you found the problem and thanks for the info.

·
Premium Member
218 Posts
imported post

I hope you send the dealer a bill for the diagnostics they did for you!

·
Premium Member
10,276 Posts
imported post

So what are you saying? It needs the chrome carb covers on to run correctly?

·
Premium Member
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post