Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1984 Honda GL1200 Aspencade, 1982 Honda GL500 Silverwing
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello new to the forum here. I came into possession of an 84 GL1200A and the motor was out and the carbs off. Doing a little tinkering I took the carbs apart and noticed the jets are corroded and definitely need to be replaced. What are the best jet sizes to put back in? Anything else I should do while doing the rebuild besides a good cleaning with carb cleaner? Also I have never done a rebuild before or worked on engines much so this is a learning opportunity. I just want to make sure when putting the new jets, gaskets, etc, do I snug the jets down hand tight or is there a specific number of turns that each one should get? Thanks for answering the questions of a newbie! Also when removing the black diaghpragms with the needle they were pretty dry but not cracked. Any way to rehydrate those or need do I need to rehydrate those to get them to fit correctly? There was a red sticky material between the carb itself and the rubber diaphragms upon removal, not sure why it is there or if it should be there.Thank you!

·
Administrator
1987 GL1200 Interstate
23,268 Posts
Main thing is to get OEM parts. Aftermarket stuff just doesn't work well in the GL12 carbs.

Also, do the cleaning right. There are some tiny little air channels that get blocked and are very hard to clean. You should get more suggestions here, very soon.

Oh, and welcome to the forum.

·
Administrator
27,754 Posts
If your jets are just covered with green stuff clean them otherwise get only those from Honda OEM. The jets are just snugged down, the only ones with a setting are the idle mixture screws, set them 3 1/2 turns out. There may be some kind of treatment for the diaphragms, I remember some guy on a radio show advertised something but I can't remember what it was.

·
1,807 Posts