Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I hear a lot of talk here about rebuilding carbs. I have an '85 gl1200 and I am pretty sure that it needs the carbs rebuilt. It will not idle unless the choke is slightly on. If I turn the choke off, it idles too low and dies. This happens even when it is warm. I called a local honda dealer and they told me that it would cost around $600 to rebuild. I was wondering how difficult it was and how much the rebuild kits cost? Also, does everything come in the kit or is there other stuff I need to buy?I am new at this so any and all advice is appreciated.

·
Premium Member
4,379 Posts
imported post

what if you increase the idle using the idle screw adjustment??... i mean. it should be idling at 900-1000 rpms. if the idle screw is all the way out. it will die even when warm cuz the idle crew is out of range and the throttle butterflie will close. on my 1200 the idle screw loses a couple of turns in a couple of months. due to vibration and when it is below 500 i set it again. the spring is not working as it should i only have to set the idle back to 1000 rpms and it wont die.

·
Premium Member
1,398 Posts
imported post

If it runs normally otherwise, I'd suspect it just needs an adjustment/carb synch. Then again the slow jets might be clogged.

Anyway, a carb rebuild is not for the feint of heart. The Randakk kit has 70+ pieces and the optional instructions are pretty spotty. It took me about 3 days to get everything put together properly, and even then I had to take the whole thing off again to adjust the float levels. There were so many microscopic o-rings I had to check everything about 4 times just to be sure I got everything in it's place.

Mike mentioned you can send the carb rack off to a place that ultrasonically cleans everything and replaces what's needed for ~$400. Not bad considering you just send it off and get it back.

·
Premium Member