Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I am new to the goldwing forum,I had a v65 magna and the wife and are now riding togather.The goldwing I chose was the one wich fit my budget (cheap) it has 108,000 miles.The problem seems to with the carbs,The first of wich is the idle RPM is spuradic (moves up and down depending on the weather,but does not surg)The second is on a slight grade with a load on it under excelaration it seems to choke, pop, spudder and not take the gas ( almost miss)If you down shift it seems to be fine ,after a couple seconds.The spark plugs have been replaced,oil changed and new fuel filter.I have seen the carbs but not ventured to remove them yet any seguestions or help would be great.Also what years carburators will fit my 1988 gl 1500 ,I was lookin into buying a set off a local salvage dealer.Please give me some good info.:jumper:

·
Monkey with a Football
19,237 Posts
imported post

Before you go nuts buying carbs, why not try a couple tankfulls of Seafoam in the gas first.

Real cheap fix for many fuel related problems.

·
Token Canuk
8,236 Posts
imported post

Yep,like Rudy said, helped my '96. :cool::cool::action::action::action:

·
Premium Member
725 Posts
imported post

if you decide to buy, i have a set of rebuildable carbs(w/ new carb slides)

Robin

·
Registered
10,509 Posts
imported post

Do like Rudy suggest, run some Seafoam through a couple of tanks of gas. Also don't lug the engine, these babies like high rpms. Also look into getting your carbs synced after doing the Seafoam trick.

·
Guru
3,074 Posts
imported post

any history on your Wing would help members here offer the best course of action with getting your wing in prime running condition.

When these bikes are bangin' on all 4 properly you will have loads of power & fuel mileage in the mid to high 40's per gallon.

Welcome to the forum!

·
Premium Member
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #7