Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

when trying to start my 82 GL1100 a couple of weeks ago the starter began to turn the engine and then there was a loud clunk and it would no longer turn. After playing with it a little it turned over and started. I thought I might have a dead spot on the starter. I decided to rebuild the starter but when I was attempting to remove it I broke the stem bolt so that starter is done for. After installing a new starter the bike started fine and I thought my problems were solved, but the next time I started the bike the clunk happened again. I found that after playing with the shift lever I can get the bike to turnover. I'm a former Auto mechanic but I'm still learning how to fix bikes. could there be something misaligned it the tranny? Could the bike be in gear or partially in gear even though the neutral light is on?

·
Premium Member
58 Posts
imported post

I've had mine do that a couple times, so I'm kinda interested to hear discussion on the topic. I'll take a seat and wait for someone to clue us in.

·
Premium Member
10 Posts
imported post

Could be some sediment around the starter clutch. When on the sidestand, the starter is the lowest point of the motor. My 1200 did the same thing. Get out and ride it and change the oil. Havent had a problem since.

·
Administrator
26,157 Posts
imported post

Sounds like hydro lock to me. Pull the plugs, turn the kill switch off and try the starter.

·
Premium Member
5,106 Posts
imported post

i agree with dave when i originally got my bike the carbs leaked overnight after spending a small fortune rebuilding the carbs

it never had a problem but ocassionally when i let it sit for a few days a bit of fuel would leak past the floats nothing i worry about so i got in the habbit of shutting of the fuel when i park it overnight and the issues went away for good