1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

This is hard to describe,and since I am new to goldwings I find

myself again needing the help of you floks to help determin if I

have a problem and what it would take to fix it.

My 84 GL1200 Aspencade with 122000 miles, when just starting

to roll off in 1st will start off normally, and then after you go a foot

or two you will fill a "bump" for like of a better description, as if

the clutch or final geer fully engages. The bike runs fine and shifts

fine.

I have checked the rubber dampers in the final drive and they look

good. Any ideas?

Thanks for any help,

Wayne

·
Senior Guru
2,234 Posts
imported post

How did you get Guru status here if you are new to Gold Wings?

Anyways, check your driveline slack by putting your Wing on the center stand, in gearand rotate the rear tire back and forth so you can measure the travel of the slack. Come back here after and post how much travel you find. Could be a U joint, driveshaft, rear splines, drive rubbers, loose swingarm, cracked frame, etc., etc.

Vic

G

·
0 Posts
imported post

Goldwinger1984 wrote:
How did you get Guru status here if you are new to Goldwings.?
Ahem ! ! ! ! Sharp observation Goldwinger1984, This "Guru" is now been giving out like the "Mana" Where does it all end.? :gunhead: I dont want any "Guru" i just want some "Mana" to keep my four (4) barrels nice and Green. :clapper:

:santawaving: :18red: :santawaving:

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

Have one on me Redwing, you deserve it... though begging for it is pretty declasse. What's the gaelic word for it? ;)

·
Senior Guru
2,234 Posts
imported post

I gave you one also Redwing because you are Irish, therefore, you need a wee bit more green on your displayand also because you are a very active member, but I will not forward another if you beg again. LOL

Vic

·
Premium Member
626 Posts
imported post