Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hey guys, I am new to goldwings but have a problem. my 79 1000 was sitting for a year, i got it runing but now the clutch will not work. the cable is working but when you go to shift it into gear it just sounds like its tearing up the gears. has anyone had this problem after the bike has sat for a while, there was no problem when i parked the bike a year ago...

·
Premium Member
5,734 Posts
imported post

if everything is working -- than i would say the clutch plates are stuck to gather. happens now and then on one thats been layed up for a while. just keep working the clutch . some times just rideing the bike will free them up when you put a load on the clutch. just my 2 cents worth.

·
Premium Member
92 Posts
imported post

Hi,
It sounds like maybe the plates are stuck togeather a little. If I were you I think I would put it on the center stand and jack up the rear tire a little so it will turn freely and then put it in 3rd gear or so and start the machine. Be very careful because of course the rear wheel will be driven.Hold in the clutch and apply the rear brake. Do this judiciously as you are not trying to overheat the rear caliper or rotor just break the clutch loose. Someone may have a better Idea but that is what I would try.
Good luck,
Greg

·
Premium Member
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

Thanks guys, I will give it a try. How hard is it to install a new clutch on a goldwing. I have worked on other bikes and curtley building a custom magna, so i can do the work just havent done much work on a goldwing (YET)

·
Premium Member
5,734 Posts
imported post

it can be done with the engine in the frame . its close , but do able. if you dont have a m/c lift table--- its a lay down job.

·
Premium Member
75 Posts
imported post