Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Ok, I am going to try & do a comression test on my 1982 GL1100. I have never done one before & hope someone can explain how to do it accurately. The tester has instructions but sounds like for a car. Would it be the same on a bike.

Thanks & remember the KISS

Keep it simple STUPID!!!

·
Premium Member
805 Posts
imported post

Yes similiar to a car, but you can use the kill switch to keep the engine from firing, rather than disabling the ignition.

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
imported post

outlawearl wrote:
Ok, I am going to try & do a comression test on my 1982 GL1100. I have never done one before & hope someone can explain how to do it accurately. The tester has instructions but sounds like for a car. Would it be the same on a bike.

Thanks & remember the KISS

Keep it simple STUPID!!!
outlawearl, it's about the same as for a car.. Warm the engine,, let it cool for a few minutes,, remove all the spark plugs,, open the throttle & hold it fully open,, short out all 4 plug wires (or turn the kill switch off),, then install the compression gauge in a cylinder & crank the engine (do that for all 4 cylinders).. You want to see what the MAX compression is for each cylinder & how many puffs it takes to reach max compression..

You want to see the max compression between cylinders tobe 10 psi or less & about the same number of puffs to get it there.

If your compression is low or it takes many puffs to get it there check for a plugged air cleaner.

Twisty

·
Premium Member
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

Ok I think I did it correctly. Here are my numbers. No.1=132, No.2=130, No.3=145, No.4=139. The reason I did the test was because my number 3 plug was fouling,( see the thread #3 plug fouling for more info) Am I safe with these numbers on my engine? Should I look toward the Carbs as the problem?

·
Premium Member
2,491 Posts
imported post