Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Like I said in an earlier thread, I'm new to Goldwing's and now I've run up on an interesting little dilema.

The title said that the bike was a '78 and I trusted it. Well I needed a new ignition switch, so I ordered one from JCWhitney for a '78.

Well, I got to digging around and I found out that the ignition switch I have is a five point swithc and the 78's had six. So I thought that was odd...then I did some more research and found out that the 78's had a guage cluster on the fake tank cover. Mine doesn't....so now I'm thinking it may be older than '78.

Do bikes have VINs? Where would I find it? I've found a few badges and stickers that list the engine size and tire info, but I can't find a VIN or serial number anywhere. And if there is one, who would I take it to find out? Thanks!

·
Premium Member
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

OK, I found that, but I thought it might have been a frame number...I've googled it and used carfax and can't get it to come up anywhere...there's no mention of the year it was made just this "GL1-2022498"

Any ideas?

·
Premium Member
11,739 Posts
imported post

I think a VIN number must have 17 numbers in it ,If you are sitting on the bike it is usually on the right hand side of the top of the frame near the front fork ,,you will have to look at it from underneath and turn the steering to the left ...it is not a label ,but stamped into the frame .whats the frame /vin number on the title ?.cheers Ciaran

·
Premium Member
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post

This number I found is stamped into the steering tube on the right of the frame. Is this not what I need?

·
Premium Member
11,739 Posts
imported post

Sorry ,they changed VIN numbers to seventeendigits after 1981,,yes I do think that that is the right number you have ,,i will see if I can check the year for you ...

·
Premium Member