Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
658 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

$453 to have my two saddlebag doors repainted and the left blinker house. I would do all the r&r and the body shop still wanted $453. It seems steep to me.
However, if I buy the primer, paint, reducer, clear, and hardener that could still run me $150 if I find it wholesale. So is it worth it to pay them $300 for their labor?
What do you guys do? Do your own work or hire it out?

·
Premium Member
2,048 Posts
imported post

i do my own but i've been painting for 40 years. it depends on what your time is worth to you and if you have the time and want to do it and if you can do a good enough job to please yourself. you can always sand and buff it to get that shine and remove some trash. but if you don't like what they do then there's the rub no pun intended. the price is not out of range with the cost of the high quality paint they use and their overhead. go for it yourself or not.

·
Premium Member
2,003 Posts
imported post

it might be a tad on the highside but with the epa and the outrageous price of materials anymore probably not too high. Red and marroons are the most expensive colors and reds or red metalics can be a troublesome match. If the shop has its own color mixing systym where they can tone it and you end up with a good color match i would go with it. If they dont and they have to rely on a paint store for a match you might want to get the paint and try it yourself .Some paint stores used to carry factory packs but I never relied on them for a good match and had a paint mixing systym in my shop. If you decide to have them do it you might want to give them a part that doesnt need to be painted. I dont know if Honda would carry a factory pack.Whats the problem with your parts. Deep scratches?. JB

·
Registered
228 Posts
imported post