Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I mentioned in another post (good news, bad news) that I just bought a 2004 1800 and the cruise "set" button is not engaging. My Honda service manager told me that it could be several things. He wants to start with some kind of switch or something (sorry, I'm not a mechanic) that would be $350.00. He said there was about a 50% chance that that would fix it. Then we would go from there. The bike has an extended warranty until September, so hopefully that will cover it, but if it doesn't I want to find out what my options are. Any ideas on what the problem could be?

·
Premium Member
552 Posts
imported post

Before engaging the cruise, try pushing out on the clutch and brake levers and pulling up on the brake. There are three micro switches that disengage the cruise- if any one of the three are not seating tight against the switch, the cruise will not work. I recently had to replace a clutch lever because of worn bushings for this reason. This might not be the problem on a bike with less than 15k on it, but it doesn't cost much to try...

·
Premium Member
3,318 Posts
imported post

It sounds like the service manager doesn't know any more about it than you do. People like him are why most folks on this forum hate to take their bike to the shop. All they want to do is throw money at the problem (your money) and hope it fixs it. If not, then throw some more parts at it.

Try doing what the last post mentioned. Could be one of the handle bar switches not working or the foot brake switch. Another possibility is the set switch itself. Might try shooting some contact cleaner in there and see if that helps.

I would make sure that this would be covered by your warranty before I let the Honda shopwork on it.

·
Premium Member
1,109 Posts
imported post