Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Okay, I would have searched for this, but search is being rebuilt.

I am mechanically functional. I own and work on a KLR. But I am new to Goldwing.

I have been on the lookout for a "very inexpensive" Goldwing to fix and ride. My buddy sold his 1981 several years ago to another friend. The other friend, apparently, ran it with the oil "low". I dont know details. It stopped running, he put oil in, then it ran "rough". I am just telling what I have been told here. I asked about the stator, I was told he wasnt sure it was charging.

OT "other friend" then bought a 1982 GW to fix the 1981. I am told it was a runner when he got it but had issues. I dont yet know the issues.

So, I can acquire both bikes, extra parts, a set of new tires, I am not sure what all. OT told me he would take $800 for all of it. Obviously, I will offer less. OT is NO mechanic, is very impatient, has bought another bike, and just wants it gone.

So, I ask all you experienced Goldwing mechanics.......
What should I really look at/for to determine if there is a chance that I should do this?
What would you offer?
In a worst case scenario, could I at least get my money back parting the bikes out?

I humbly ask for your wisdom.....

Thank you!

Philip

·
Still Learning
13,270 Posts
imported post

If he wants rid of them tell him you will do him the favor and take them off his hands as of the above you might have 1 runner, might not too. Get a repair manual to start. Max $300-350

·
Premium Member
1,680 Posts
imported post

You are not in bad shape if you get both of them at the same time.Make sure to get paper work on both[titles].
The only thing that might not swap between the 2 is the fuel tank and parts of the swing arm.
Take the best of 2 and make a good one,sell the rest on e-bay.

·
Premium Member
74 Posts
imported post